Brewer Science Joins NextFlex as a Founding Member

May 10, 2016 – Rolla, MO – Brewer Science has committed to be a founding member of NextFlex to bring additional technical insight and leadership into the design of flexible hybrid electronics. Brewer Science, in partnership with approximately 30 academic, industrial, and non-profit organizations, is committed to spurring innovation in manufacturing methods for leading-edge technology products.

“Flexible hybrid electronics involve a sophisticated merger of complex technologies that will result in the integration of the high density and high performance of silicon and compound semiconductors with flexible, stretchable, and wearable device architectures,” said James Lamb, Corporate Technical Fellow for Brewer Science. “Our vision and leadership in solving critical industry obstacles make us well-suited for bringing a broad and unique perspective to NextFlex. Brewer Science enables the cutting-edge lithography that drives silicon device performance, enables the thinning and full back-end processing of silicon wafers and other thin flexible substrates, and develops flexible printed carbon electronic devices and sensor technology.”

“NextFlex works in partnership with academic, industrial, and non-profit organizations,” said Doyle Edwards, Brewer Science’s Director of Communications and Government Relations. “Since Brewer Science has 35 years of experience inventing and manufacturing products, processes, and equipment for the semiconductor industry, we are eager to push the frontier for microelectronics. We are recognized globally for our expertise in advanced manufacturing, which will help us expedite the timeline for product development. We know that the industry will be eager to embrace flexible technology and incorporate new technology in the products available to customers around the world.”

NextFlex founding members are: Corporate members: Acellent Technologies, American Semiconductor, Boeing, Brewer Science, Custom Electronics, E Ink, Eastman Chemical, Jabil, Molex, ON Semiconductor, Raytheon, SI2 Technologies, SRI International, STI Electronics, and Uniqarta.

Academic/non-profit members: Auburn University, Binghamton University, Georgia Tech, IPC, IQM Research Institute, Purdue University, Team NEO, University of Arizona, University of Arkansas, University of Connecticut, University of Massachusetts Lowell, University of Texas at Austin, University of Washington, Washington State University, and Western Michigan University.

Learn more about Brewer Science at, follow us on Twitter at @BrewerScience, like us on Facebook at, and subscribe to our blog at

About Brewer Science – Celebrating 35 Years
Brewer Science is a global technology leader in developing and manufacturing innovative materials, processes, and equipment for the fabrication of semiconductors and microelectronic devices. With its headquarters in Rolla, Missouri, Brewer Science supports customers throughout the world with a service and distribution network in North America, Europe, and Asia. As a 2014 SEMI Award for North America recipient for revolutionizing optical lithography with ARC® anti-reflective coatings, Brewer Science is prepared for the next generation. Are you? Find out at

About NextFlex
NextFlex was founded on August 28, 2015, through the execution of a Cooperative Agreement between the U.S. Department of Defense and the FlexTech Alliance. A public-private partnership, NextFlex is the latest of seven Manufacturing Innovation Institutes funded through the National Network for Manufacturing Innovation to create, showcase, and deploy new capabilities and new manufacturing processes. More information about NextFlex, including how to apply for membership, can be found at

For more information, contact:
Loretta Wallis
Corporate Relations Manager
Brewer Science
(US) +1.573.364.0300

Back to Newsroom